Email list hosting service & mailing list manager

ALA NOMINATING COMMITTEE SEEKS CANDIDATES | (Crossposted -- Step Schmitt Stephen Clark 07 May 2002 12:50 UTC

-------- Original Message --------
Date: Mon, 6 May 2002 13:37:55 -0400
From: Step Schmitt <stephanie.schmitt@YALE.EDU>


The ALA 2003 Nominating Committee is soliciting nominees to run on the
2003 spring ballot for the offices of ALA president-elect and Councilor at

The Nominating Committee will select two candidates to run for
President-elect and no fewer than 66 candidates for the 33 at large
Council seats to be filled in the 2003 spring election.

The president-elect will serve a three-year term: as president-elect in
2003-2004, as president in 2004-2005, and as immediate past president in

Councilors at large will serve for three-year terms, beginning after the
2003 ALA Annual Conference and ending at the adjournment of the 2006
Annual Conference.

Members who wish to make nominations should submit the following
information: nominee name; present position; institution; address;
telephone; fax; and e-mail address.  Self-nominations are encouraged.
Nominees should complete the Potential Candidate Biographical Form
available at Nominations
and forms are requested by June 10, 2002 but will be accepted until August
1, 2002.

Nominations may be sent to any member of the 2003 Nominating Committee.
Committee members are:

Ann C. Sparanese, Chair, Head of Adult & Young Adult Services, Englewood
Public Library, c/o 146 St Nicholas Ave., Englewood, NJ 07631-1639,
Rolly J. Lee, Jr., Director, Mount Vernon Public Library, c/o 81 Saint
Place, Brooklyn, NY 11238-1210, Email:
Jeanne Franco Martinez, Component Director, Education Service Center,
20, 1314 Hines Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78208-1899, Email:
Stephen Prine, Library of Congress, c/o 148 Duddington Place SE,
DC 20003-2609, Email:
Robert B. Marks Ridinger, Northern Illinois University, Founders
Library, 15 E Founders Memorial Library, Dekalb, IL 60115-2868, Email:
Katia Roberto, Special Collections Cataloger, Southern Illinois
Library Affairs, Mail Code 6632, Carbondale, IL 62901-6632, Email:
Stephanie C. Schmitt, Manager of Serials Services, Yale Law Library,
Box 207098, New Haven, CT 06520-7098,  Email:
Theresa A. Tobin, Head Librarian, MIT Humanities Library, Massachusetts
Institute of Technology, 77 Massachusetts Ave.,
Cambridge, MA 02139-4307, Email:
Harriet C. Ying, Branch Manager, Prince George's County Memorial Lib,
Surratts-Clinton Branch, 9400 Piscataway Road, Clinton, MD 20735-363,

To encourage diversity and leadership development, the Committee will
refrain from nominating any current Councilors for election to another
term. However, the Committee encourages all Councilors who wish to
continue their service to the Association to file as petition candidates.
Petitions will be available from Lois Ann Gregory-Wood, Council
Secretariat, ALA, 50 E. Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, email,
or during the 2002 Annual Conference or 2003 Midwinter Meeting.
Petitions require 25 signatures for names to be included on the 2003

Stephanie Schmitt
Manager of Serials Services
Yale Law School Library
PO Box 208326,127 Wall Street
New Haven, CT 06520-8326
203.432.7440 v 203.432.7940 f