Email list hosting service & mailing list manager

LAST CALL: NASIG Fritz Schwartz Serials Education Scholarship Eleanor Cook 06 Feb 2004 02:05 UTC

We encourage colleagues to spread the word about this lucrative student
The deadline for applications is approaching!  Thanks much!
Eleanor Cook
Past-President & Publicist, NASIG

Please excuse the cross-posting.



The North American Serials Interest Group (NASIG) awards a $2500 scholarship to a library science graduate student who demonstrates excellence in scholarship and the potential for accomplishment in a serials career. The purpose of the scholarship is to advance the serials profession by providing an aspiring library student who has prior serials experience with enhanced educational opportunities.

The award is named in honor of Fritz Schwartz, who was a well-known and highly respected authority on Electronic Data Interchange (EDI), the Internet, and library standards. A frequent speaker at NASIG annual conferences, his last NASIG appearance was to conduct a highly rated workshop at the 10th Conference at Duke University. He actively participated in various committees within the Serials Industry Systems Advisory Committee (SISAC), the National Information Standards Organization (NISO), and the International Committee on EDI for Serials (ICEDIS). At the time of his death, Fritz was Manager of Electronic Services and Standards at the Faxon Company. NASIG is pleased to offer this scholarship in memory of Fritz's many contributions to the library profession and to honor his energy, warmth, humor, and passion for standards.

NASIG is an independent, international organization committed to promoting communication and sharing of ideas among all people working with or concerned about serial publications. More information about the organization is available at

In addition to the scholarship, the recipient will also receive a Student Grant Award to attend the NASIG conference for the year in which the scholarship is granted and will receive a one-year NASIG membership. Nineteenth Annual Conference to be held at the Historic Hilton Milwaukee City Center in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, June 17-20, 2004.

ELIGIBILITY: At the time the scholarship is awarded, the applicant must be entering an ALA-accredited graduate library program or must have completed no more than twelve hours of academic requirements towards the graduate degree at a graduate library program accredited at the time of enrollment. The applicant must have serials-related work experience and a desire to pursue a professional serials career after earning the graduate library degree.

The following materials are required to be submitted electronically either in Microsoft Word or plain text (.txt) format by the applicant:
*       A completed application form;
*       Letters of reference from two information professionals;
*       A resume or curriculum vita;
*       A statement of the applicant's career objectives (not to exceed 250 words);
*       A statement describing how the applicant's qualifications satisfy the eligibility requirements and the purpose of the award (not to exceed 250 words).

The award winner will be required to be enrolled for a minimum of six credit hours of library/information science courses per semester/quarter during the academic year that the award is granted. The award winner will be ineligible to reapply for the scholarship. Only one scholarship will be awarded per academic year.

Application forms are available through the NASIG Web Page Applications will only be accepted in electronic form. Completed applications and all related materials should be e-mailed to:

     Rachel L. Frick
     Co-Chair, NASIG Awards & Recognition Committee
     University of Richmond
     Phone: (804) 289-8942

APPLICATION DEADLINE: Applications and related materials must be emailed by FEBRUARY 15, 2004. Applications emailed after this date will not be considered.

AWARD NOTIFICATION: The award recipient will be notified by APRIL 1, 2004.