Email list hosting service & mailing list manager

Reminder: Bowker Award Deadline Approaching Marilyn Geller 01 Nov 2005 16:09 UTC

(Please forgive multiple postings and feel free to forward to even more

Nominations are being sought for the Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship
Award for 2006. The Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship Award is presented
by the ALCTS (Association for Library Collections and Technical Services)
Serials Section of the American Library Association and is sponsored by R.R.
Bowker Company, publisher of Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory.
The award consists of a citation with a cash award of $1,500. The winner
will be honored during the ALA Annual Conference 2006.

The award is presented annually to an individual (librarian, publisher,
vendor, subscription agent, and others) in recognition of distinguished
contributions to the serials field, demonstrated by leadership in
serials-related activities through participation in professional
associations and/or library education programs, contributions to the body of
serials literature, research in the area of serials, development of tools or
methods to enhance access to or management of serials, or other advances
leading to a better understanding of the serials industry. The award may be
shared by two or more individuals who have participated in the achievement
for which it is granted. Employees of the Bowker Company are not eligible to
receive the award.

Past winners of the Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship Award include
Marcia Tuttle, Ruth C. Carter, James P. Danky, Marjorie E. Bloss, John E.
Merriman, Jean S. Cook, Deana L. Astle/Charles A. Hamaker, Linda K. Bartley,
Ann L. Okerson, Tina Feick, Peter Gellatly, Jean L. Hirons, Cindy Hepfer,
Crystal Graham, Regina Romano Reynolds, Trisha L. Davis, Eric Lease Morgan,
Frieda Rosenberg, Pamela Bluh, and Dan Tonkery.

A nomination packet should include: a letter of nomination, 3-5 letters of
support, the nominee's resume, and up to three examples of the nominee's
publications. Send nomination packets to the Chair of the Committee at the
address listed below.

Deadline for nomination submissions is December 1, 2005.

Marilyn Geller, MSLS
Chair, ALCTS Serials Section Bowker Award Jury
436 School Street
Belmont, MA 02478-3864
Phone: 617-484-7379