Call for Nominations: 2008 NETSL Award for Excellence in Technical Services Hennessey, Barry 04 Jan 2008 18:47 UTC

This message has been cross-posted. Please excuse the duplication.

NETSL AWARD 2008:  Call for Nominations

New England Technical Services Librarians (NETSL) Executive Board is
seeking nominations for its annual NETSL Award for Excellence in Library
Technical Services. The NETSL Award recognizes and honors significant
New England-based contributions to the field of library technical
services. Contributions may have been made in New England by librarians
from throughout the United States, or nationally by librarians residing
in New England, through publications, service, or innovations in
practice. The NETSL Executive Board members select a recipient at their
February meeting based on nominations received. The Board reserves the
right to suspend the Award for a year if no suitable candidate is
nominated. The next NETSL Award will be presented at the annual NETSL
Spring Conference at the College of the Holy Cross in Worcester, Mass.
on April 4, 2008.

Eligibility for nomination is as follows:

*      Nominees may be NETSL/NELA members, but membership in the
Association is not a requirement.

*      A nomination must be accompanied by a written statement that
includes the rationale for nomination and, if a resume of the nominee is
not appended, a narrative summary of the nominee's career and
achievements. Provision of a resume is strongly recommended.

*      Nominations may be made by NETSL members, or by non-members.

*      Nominations and statement(s) must be received by the NETSL
Vice-President no later than February 8, 2008.

*      Current members of the NETSL Executive Board are not eligible for

Nominees shall have made contributions to library technical services in
one or more of the following areas:

(1)     Leadership in professional associations at local, state,
regional or national level

(2)     Contributions or innovations in technical services

(3)     Significant contributions to professional literature

(4)     Conduct of studies or research in technical services

Past Recipients include:

Lynda Kresge, Birdie MacLennan, Dr. Sheila Intner, Robert L. Cunningham,
Matthew Beacom, Catherine Willis, and Lisa Palmer.

Please send nominations and inquiries to:

Amy Benson

NETSL Vice-President/President-Elect

Librarian/Archivist for Digital Initiatives

Schlesinger Library

Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study

Harvard University

10 Garden Street

Cambridge, MA  02138


NETSL is a section of the New England Library Association and is
affiliated with the ALCTS Council of Regional Groups. For more
information on NETSL, visit our website at: <>