Email list hosting service & mailing list manager

NASIG STUDENT GRANT AWARDS, 1992 Marcia Tuttle 31 Jan 1992 18:24 UTC

Date:         Fri, 31 Jan 1992 12:53:43 LCL

 Subject: NASIG conference grant awards

                         NASIG CONFERENCE GRANT AWARDS

 The North American Serials Interest Group (NASIG) is an independent
 organization bringing together many segments of the serials information chain
 to study and explore common interests, problems, and ideas. NASIG is currently
 seeking candidates for grants to attend its Seventh Annual Conference to be
 held at the University of Illinois at Chicago, June 18 to 21, 1992. Through
 the granting of these awards, NASIG desires to encourage participation in this
 information chain by students who are interested in some aspect of serials
 work upon completion of their professional degree.


 SCOPE OF AWARD: Recipients are expected to attend the entire conference and
 submit a brief written report to NASIG. Expenses for travel, registration,
 meals and lodging will be paid by NASIG.

 ELIGIBILITY: Students who are currently enrolled in any ALA-accredited library
 school, who do not already have an ALA-accredited degree, and who have
 expressed an interest in serials and/or technical services work, are eligible.
 Applicants must be full or part-time students at the time of application. In
 order to accept an award, a recipient must not be employed in a position
 requiring an ALA-accredited degree, nor on leave from such a position, at the
 time of acceptance of the grant. Equal consideration will be given to all
 qualified applicants, with preference given to those graduating the year of
 the conference.

 APPLICATION PROCEDURE: Application forms will be available after February 1,
 1992, in ALA-accredited library schools and from Harriet Kersey, Chair,
 Library Science Student Grant Committee. Completed applications should be sent
 to Harriet Kersey, Head, Serials Cataloging, Georgia Tech Library, Atlanta,
 Georgia 30332-0900. Telephone number: (404) 894-4523.

 APPLICATION DEADLINE: March 1, 1992. Applications received after this date
 will not be considered.

 AWARD NOTIFICATION: Award recipients will be notified by April 15, 1992. A
 maximum of six grants may be awarded for 1992.