Email list hosting service & mailing list manager

ALCTS AWARDS 1994 U34261@UICVM.BITNET 08 Nov 1993 17:44 UTC

[This notice is being posted to several discussion groups. Please
forgive duplication.]


Nominations are being sought for six ALCTS awards. These awards will be
presented during the 1994 ALA Annual Conference in Miami.

Best of LRTS -- for the best paper published during 1993 in Library
Resources & Technical Services, the official journal of ALCTS.

Esther J. Piercy Award -- to a librarian with not more than 10 years'
professional experience for outstanding contribution to librarianship
in the field of technical services and for outstanding promise for
continuing contributions and leadership.

Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship Award -- for distinguished
contributions to serial librarianship within the previous three years
demonstrated through participation in professional associations and/or
library education programs, contributions to the body of serials
literature, development of tools or methods to enhance access to, or
management of, serials, or other advances leading to a better
understanding of the field of serials. The award, $1500 donated by the
R.R. Bowker Co., is administered by the Serials Section.

Margaret Mann Citation -- for outstanding professional achievement in
cataloging or classification through publication of significant
professional literature, participation in professional cataloging
associations, or valuable contributions to practice in individual
libraries. The award is administered by the Cataloging and Classifica-
tion Section.

Blackwell North America Scholarship Award -- to honor the author or
authors of the outstanding book or paper published in 1993 in the field
of acquisitions, collection development and related areas of resources
development in libraries. The award, $2000 donated by Blackwell North
America, is given to the U.S. or Canadian library school of the
recipient author's choice.

First Step Award - Serials Section Wiley Development Grant -- to
provide librarians new to the serials field with the opportunity to
broaden their perspectives and to encourage professional development in
serials librarianship through attendance at the ALA Annual Conference
and participation in Serials Section activities. The $1500 grant,
donated by John Wiley & Sons, Inc., is administered by the Serials

The deadline for all awards is December 1. For more information about
the ALCTS awards, refer to the ALA Handbook of Organization or contact
the ALCTS Office at 312-280-5034 (or 800-545-2433 ext. 5034) or by
e-mai at u34261@uicvm.