Leadership in Library Acquisitions Award -- Nancy Slight-Gibney Stephen Clark 30 Sep 2002 14:02 UTC

-------- Original Message --------
Date: Fri, 27 Sep 2002 14:41:50 -0700
From: Nancy Slight-Gibney <nsg@OREGON.UOREGON.EDU>
Subject: Leadership in Library Acquisitions Award

Leadership in Library
Acquisitions Award

Purpose: This award of $1,500, donated by Harrassowitz Company, is given
to recognize the contributions by and outstanding leadership of an
individual to the field of acquisitions librarianship. This recognition
is made for individual achievement of a high order in this area.  The
winner will be presented the award at the ALCTS President's Program at
the ALA Annual Conference in Toronto in June 2003.

1.Nominees must have demonstrated leadership related to acquisitions
librarianship, which has contributed significantly to improvements in
the field.
2.Nominees must have demonstrated achievement in the field of
acquisitions as evidenced by one or more of the following:
    contributions to professional associations;
    contributions to the literature including research;
    contributions to the education of acquisitions professionals; and
    contributions to the advancement of the profession.
3.Two letters of reference.
4.Employees of the Harrassowitz Company are not eligible to receive the

Submission procedure:  In order to nominate someone for this award,
please send a formal letter of nomination to the Chair of the
Leadership in Acquisitions Awards Committee.  Each letter of nomination
should include:  1) relevant biographical information, e.g., name,
address, positions(s) held, place of employment, phone numbers, ALA
membership number, educational background; 2) statement of work  and/or
professional experience, professional activities, honors, and any other
factors relevant to the nominee. Nominators should arrange to have two
letters of reference, sent directly to the chair from the author, not
via the nominee. The award may be divided among two or more individuals
who have participated jointly in the achievement for which it is granted.

Deadline for submission of nominations: December 1, 2002.

Please submit nominations to: Marie Seymour-Green (seymour@udel.edu),
Chair, Leadership in Library Acquisitions Award Committee.  Nominations
may also be sent to the Chair at:  The University of Delaware Library,
181 S. College Ave., Newark, DE 19717-5267

Past Recipients of the Award:

Year            Recipient(s)
2002            Rosann Bazirjian
2001            Karen Schmidt
2000            Frances C. Wilkinson
1999            Carol Pitts Diedrichs
1998            Christian M. Boissonnas
1997            Katina Strauch
1996            Joseph W. Barker
1995            Carol E. Chamberlain

The URL for award information is:

Nancy Slight-Gibney               voice: 541/346-1831
Head, Acquisition Department       fax:  541/346-3485
Anthropology Subject Specialist
1299 University of Oregon
Eugene, OR 97403-1200         email: nsg@oregon.uoregon.edu