NASIG/SISAC Fritz Schwartz Serials Education Scholarship Eleanor Cook 15 Oct 2003 00:48 UTC


Sponsored by NASIG and SISAC

The North American Serials Interest Group (NASIG) and the Serials
Industry Systems Advisory Committee (SISAC) team up each year to award a
$2500 scholarship to a library science graduate student who demonstrates
excellence in scholarship and the potential for accomplishment in a
serials career. The purpose of the scholarship is to advance the serials
profession by providing an aspiring library student who has prior
serials experience with enhanced educational opportunities.

In addition to the scholarship, the recipient will also receive a
Student Grant Award to attend the NASIG conference for the year in which
the scholarship is granted and will receive a one-year NASIG membership.
The Nineteenth Annual Conference will be held at the Historic Hilton
Milwaukee City Center in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, June 17-20, 2004.

The award is named in honor of Fritz Schwartz, who was a well-known and
highly respected authority on Electronic Data Interchange (EDI), the
Internet, and library standards. A frequent speaker at NASIG annual
conferences, his last NASIG appearance was to conduct a highly rated
workshop at the 10th Conference at Duke University. He actively
participated in various committees within SISAC, the National
Information Standards Organization (NISO), and the International
Committee on EDI for Serials (ICEDIS). At the time of his death, Fritz
was Manager of Electronic Services and Standards at the Faxon Company.
NASIG and SISAC are pleased to offer this scholarship in memory of
Fritz's many contributions to the library profession and to honor his
energy, warmth, humor, and passion for standards.

ELIGIBILITY: At the time the scholarship is awarded, the applicant must
be entering an ALA-accredited graduate library program or must have
completed no more than twelve hours of academic requirements towards the
graduate degree at a graduate library program accredited at the time of
enrollment. The applicant must have serials-related work experience and
a desire to pursue a professional serials career after earning the
graduate library degree.

The following materials are required to be submitted electronically
either in Microsoft Word or plain text (.txt) format by the applicant:

A completed application form;
Letters of reference from two information professionals;
A resume or curriculum vita;
A statement of the applicant's career objectives (not to exceed 250
A statement describing how the applicant's qualifications satisfy the
eligibility requirements and the purpose of the award (not to exceed 250
The award winner will be required to be enrolled for a minimum of six
credit hours of library/information science courses per semester/quarter
during the academic year that the award is granted. The award winner
will be ineligible to reapply for the scholarship. Only one scholarship
will be awarded per academic year.

Application forms are available through the NASIG Web Page
and from Rachel L. Frick, Co-Chair, Awards & Recognition Committee.
Applications will only be accepted in electronic form. Completed
applications and all related materials should be e-mailed to:

     Rachel L. Frick
     Co-Chair, NASIG Awards & Recognition Committee
     University of Richmond
     Phone: (804) 289-8942

APPLICATION DEADLINE: Applications and related materials must be emailed
by FEBRUARY 15, 2004. Applications emailed after this date will not be

AWARD NOTIFICATION: The award recipient will be notified by APRIL 1,

NASIG is an independent, international organization committed to
promoting communication and sharing of ideas among all people working
with or concerned about serial publications. More information about the
organization is available at SISAC provides a
forum for professionals throughout the entire serials chain to work
together in developing standardized formats with which to electronically
transmit serials information. More information about SISAC is available
through the Book Industry Study Group site: