call for nominations: Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship Award Beverley Geer/Amigos 02 Oct 2003 12:09 UTC

Please forgive any duplication from other electronic lists

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS ? Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship Award

Nominations are being sought for the Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship
Award for 2004. The Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship Award is
presented by the ALCTS (Association for Library Collections and Technical
Services) Serials Section of the American Library Association and is
sponsored by R.R. Bowker Company, publisher of Ulrich's International
Periodicals Directory. The award consists of a citation with a cash award
of $1,500. The winner will be honored during the ALA Annual Conference

The award is presented annually to an individual (librarian, publisher,
vendor, subscription agent, and others) in recognition of distinguished
contributions to the serials field, demonstrated by leadership in
serials-related activities through participation in professional
associations and/or library education programs, contributions to the body
of serials literature, research in the area of serials, development of
tools or methods to enhance access to or management of serials, or other
advances leading to a better understanding of the serials industry. The
award may shared by two or more individuals who have participated in the
achievement for which it is granted. Employees of the Bowker Company are
not eligible to receive the award.

Past winners of the Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship Award include
Marcia Tuttle, Ruth C. Carter, James P. Danky, Marjorie E. Bloss, John E.
Merriman, Jean S. Cook, Deana L. Astle/Charles A. Hamaker, Linda K.
Bartley, Ann L. Okerson, Tina Feick, Peter Gellatly, Jean L. Hirons, Cindy
Hepfer, Crystal Graham, Regina Romano Reynolds, Trisha L. Davis, Eric Lease
Morgan, and Frieda Rosenberg.

A nomination packet should include: a letter of nomination, 3-5 letters of
support, the nominee's resume, and up to three examples of the nominee's
publications. Send nomination packets to the Chair of the Committee at the
address listed below.

Deadline for nomination submissions is December 1, 2003.

Beverley Geer
Chair, Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship Award Committee
PMB 312
18160 US Hwy 281N
Suite 108
San Antonio, TX 78232
e-mail: or