Email list hosting service & mailing list manager

(Previous discussion continued)
Re: Newspapers on sticks Michelle Makkos (13 Apr 2010 21:29 UTC)

Re: Newspapers on sticks Michelle Makkos 13 Apr 2010 21:29 UTC

Interesting topic!  Our local newspaper is pretty popular with patrons and we continue to put about 3-5 copies of our local newspaper on sticks daily, splitting one newspaper onto two separate sticks since some patrons simply want to check the Sports or Business sections.  We also keep a few 'whole' copies at our desk and require an ID for those that want to use them.  The sticks are time consuming but work out pretty well since some patrons only want certain sections and the sticks make more of the paper available to patrons.

This does not say that there aren't problems with placing the newspapers on the sticks - patrons will sometimes take them apart and walk away with part of the paper, they've also hidden the sticks between the shelves, etc.

Has any public library made a successful transition from the sticks?  Some of our patrons actually like to read the paper that way!

Michelle

**********************************
Michelle Makkos
Senior Subject Department Librarian
General Reference Department
Cleveland Public Library
325 Superior Avenue
Cleveland, Ohio  44114
(216)623-2904
(216)623-2972 Fax
michelle.makkos@cpl.org
http://www.cpl.org

----- Original Message -----
From: Brigida Campos <bcampos@CITYOFPASADENA.NET>
To: SERIALST@LIST.UVM.EDU
Sent: Tue, 13 Apr 2010 16:11:26 -0400 (EDT)
Subject: Re: [SERIALST] Newspapers on sticks

Ah, Newspaper Kebobs!
I would love to hear from other Public libraries on this topic, too.
This topic comes up at our library about every other year or so...

In the end, we just have too many patrons looking for the current issue
throughout our building.
If it isn't on the shelf, they want to be able to see where it is even
if someone is using it.
Probably, so they can start to give the "evil eye" to anyone hogging the
current issue.

--Brigida
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Brigida Campos
Collection Dev. and Database Mgmt.
Pasadena Public Library
285 E. Walnut St.
Pasadena, CA 91101

bcampos@cityofpasadena.net

________________________________

	From: SERIALST: Serials in Libraries Discussion Forum
[mailto:SERIALST@list.uvm.edu] On Behalf Of SERIALST automatic digest
system
	Sent: Tuesday, April 13, 2010 12:50 PM
	To: SERIALST@LIST.UVM.EDU
	Subject: SERIALST Digest - 9 Apr 2010 to 13 Apr 2010 - Special
issue (#2010-88)

LISTSERV mailing list manager <http://www.lsoft.com> 	 LISTSERV 15.0
<http://list.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/wa?LIST=SERIALST>

SERIALST Digest - 9 Apr 2010 to 13 Apr 2010 - Special issue (#2010-88)

Table of contents:

*	Newspapers on sticks (13)
*	Random Arrivals
*	oversized vols in serial runs (2)
*	Metadata and Digital Library Development workshop
*	Reminder - Call for Discussion and User Groups

1.	Newspapers on sticks

	*	Newspapers on sticks (04/13)
		From: Ken Siegert <ken.siegert@FANDM.EDU>
	*	Re: Newspapers on sticks (04/13)
		From: "Heath, Janet P" <HEATHJ@ECU.EDU>
	*	Re: Newspapers on sticks (04/13)
		From: Clement Lau <cclau@UBALT.EDU>
	*	Re: Newspapers on sticks (04/13)
		From: "Martinez, Veronica" <VMartin2@TRINITY.EDU>
	*	Re: Newspapers on sticks (04/13)
		From: Sharon McLaurin <smclaurin@EMAIL.WCU.EDU>
	*	Re: Newspapers on sticks (04/13)
		From: "Martha M. Davis" <davismar@LUTHER.EDU>
	*	Re: Newspapers on sticks (04/13)
		From: "Freisatz, Dawn M" <FREISADM@COBLESKILL.EDU>
	*	Re: Newspapers on sticks (04/13)
		From: Ian Woodward <iwoodward@COLGATE.EDU>
	*	Re: Newspapers on sticks (04/13)
		From: Ken Siegert <ken.siegert@FANDM.EDU>
	*	Re: Newspapers on sticks (04/13)
		From: Wilma Dague <wdague@BENEDICTINE.EDU>
	*	Re: Newspapers on sticks (04/13)
		From: "Fearer, Kathleen E (EED)"
<kathleen.fearer@ALASKA.GOV>
	*	Re: Newspapers on sticks (04/13)
		From: "Charles L. King" <charlesk@LIBRARIESHAWAII.ORG>
	*	Re: Newspapers on sticks (04/13)
		From: Ken Siegert <ken.siegert@FANDM.EDU>

2.	Random Arrivals

	*	Re: Random Arrivals (04/13)
		From: "Gillert, Richard" <rgillert@AII.EDU>

3.	oversized vols in serial runs

	*	Re: oversized vols in serial runs (04/13)
		From: "Hammond, Jaime" <JHammond@NVCC.COMMNET.EDU>
	*	Re: oversized vols in serial runs (04/13)
		From: Kathryn Wesley <KWESLEY@CLEMSON.EDU>

4.	Metadata and Digital Library Development workshop

	*	Metadata and Digital Library Development workshop
(04/13)
		From: Bobby Reeves <reeves@AMERICAN.EDU>

5.	Reminder - Call for Discussion and User Groups

	*	Reminder - Call for Discussion and User Groups (04/13)
		From: publicist <publicist@NASIG.ORG>

Browse the SERIALST online archives.
<http://list.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/wa?LIST=SERIALST>

Powered by the LISTSERV Email List Manager
<http://www.lsoft.com/products/listserv-powered.asp>