NASIG Fritz Schwartz Scholarship Announcement Judy Johnston 20 Nov 1998 15:23 UTC

Also posted to other discussion lists; please excuse any duplication.



Sponsored by NASIG and SISAC

The North American Serials Interest Group (NASIG) and the Serials
Industry Systems Advisory Committee (SISAC) team up each year to award
a $2500 scholarship to a library science graduate student who
demonstrates excellence in scholarship and the potential for
accomplishment in a serials career.  The purpose of the scholarship is
to advance the serials profession by providing an aspiring library
student who has prior serials experience with enhanced educational

The award is named in honor of Fritz Schwartz, who was a well-known
and highly respected authority on Electronic Data Interchange (EDI),
the Internet, and library standards.  A frequent speaker at NASIG
annual conferences, his last NASIG appearance was to conduct a highly
rated workshop at the 10th Conference at Duke University.  He actively
participated in various committees within SISAC, the National
Information Standards Organization (NISO), and the International
Committee on EDI for Serials (ICEDIS).  At the time of his death,
Fritz was Manager of Electronic Services and Standards at the Faxon
Company.  NASIG and SISAC are pleased to offer this scholarship in
memory of Fritz's many contributions to the library profession and to
honor his energy, warmth, humor, and passion for standards.

NASIG is an international organization committed to promoting
communication and sharing of ideas among all people working with or
concerned about serial publications.  More information about the
organization is available at  SISAC
provides a forum for professionals throughout the entire serials chain
to work together in developing standardized formats with which to
electronically transmit serials information.  More information about
SISAC is available at

In addition to the scholarship, the recipient will also receive a
Student Grant Award to attend the NASIG conference for the year in
which the scholarship is granted and will receive a one-year NASIG
membership.  The 1999 NASIG conference will be held at Carnegie Mellon
University in Pittsburgh, PA June 10th-13th.

Eligibility requirements for the scholarship:

At the time the scholarship is awarded, the applicant must be entering
an ALA- accredited graduate library program or must have completed no
more than twelve hours of academic requirements towards the graduate

The applicant must have serials-related work experience and a desire
to pursue a professional serials career after earning the graduate
library degree.

The following materials are required by the applicant and must be
postmarked/faxed by February 16, 1999 (Applications postmarked/faxed
after this date will not be considered):

   A completed application form.

   Letters of reference from two information professionals.

   A resume or curriculum vita.

   A statement of the applicant's career objectives (not to exceed 250

 A statement on how the applicant's qualifications satisfy the
eligibility requirements and the purpose of the award (not to exceed
250 words).

The award winner will be required to be enrolled for a minimum of six
credit hours of library/information science courses per
semester/quarter during the academic year that the award is granted.
The award winner will be ineligible to reapply for the scholarship.
Only one scholarship will be awarded per academic year.

Application forms will be available after November 15, 1998 in ALA
accredited library schools, through the NASIG Web Page, and from
Markel Tumlin, Co-Chair, Awards and Recognition Committee.  Completed
applications and all related materials should be sent to:

Markel Tumlin
General Reference Division
University Library, LLA 1101-L
San Diego State University
5500 Campanile Drive
San Diego, CA 92182-8050
Phone (619) 594-6875
Fax (619) 594-3270