ALPSP /Charlesworth Awards Winners 2001 (Suzy Fotheringham) Marcia Tuttle 13 Sep 2001 14:03 UTC

---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Thu, 13 Sep 2001 10:03:50 +0100 (BST)
From: "[iso-8859-1] Suzy Fotheringham" <>
Subject: ALPSP /Charlesworth Awards Winners 2001

Announcing the Winners of the ALPSP and ALPSP/Charlesworth Awards 2001

At the Annual Dinner of The Association of Learned and Professional
Society Publishers in London on 12 September, the winners of the
prestigious ALPSP and ALPSP/Charlesworth Awards were presented. There were
six award categories, five of them new this year, and each recognising
significant achievement in the field of learned and professional

The following awards were selected by a panel of independent experts from
over 100 international entries:

The ALPSP/Charlesworth Award for Learned Journals was won by Nature
Publishing Group for the Nature Reviews journals, which were considered
outstanding for elegance of typography and well-considered, clever design.
Taylor and Francis were highly commended for their journal Performance
Research, as were Academic Press for The International Journal of Nautical
Archaeology (published for the Nautical Archaeological Society) and W B
Saunders for Paediatric Respiratory Reviews.

The ALPSP/Charlesworth Award for House/Membership Journals went to
Plantlife – The Wild-Plant Conservation Charity for its magazine
Plantlife, which was notable for its very high quality design and
production.  The Society of Freelance Editors and Proofreaders was highly
commended for Copyright, and the Society for General Microbiology for
Microbiology Today.

The winner of the ALPSP Award for Publishing Innovation was CAB
International for its Crop Protection Compendium;  the panel were
impressed by the novelty and sophistication of this product.  The Journal
of High Energy Physics (International School for Advanced Studies) and
Clinical Evidence (BMJ Publishing Group) were both highly commended.

The ALPSP Award for Service to Not-for-Profit Publishing was won by the
Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC), whose
various initiatives have prompted re-examination of traditional approaches
to publishing and generated worthwhile debate and experimentation.

The winner of the ALPSP Award for Service to Publisher/Library Relations
was Karen Hunter from Elsevier Science.  Her depth of knowledge of the
needs of librarians and publishers is unrivalled, and she has championed
the dialogue between publishers and their librarian customers.  Sally
Morris, Secretary-General of ALPSP, was highly commended

The ALPSP Award for Service to ALPSP went to Michele Benjamin, the Editor
of ALPSP's journal Learned Publishing. The award recognises all Michele's
diverse activities for ALPSP, ranging from serving as a key member of
ALPSP Council and as Chair from 1994-6 to editing Learned Publishing.
Pippa Smart, Blackwell Publishing, was highly commended.

ALPSP would like to thank all those who entered, and to encourage them and
others to enter in 2002.

Note for Editors ALPSP represents the community of not-for-profit
publishers and those who work with them to disseminate academic and
professional information. Services include monitoring national and
international issues and representing members' interests to the wider
world, as well as offering an extensive programme of education, training
and development. ALPSP has an informative website and also
publishes a quarterly journal, Learned Publishing and an electronic
newsletter, ALPSP Alert.

The Charlesworth Group is dedicated to serving the authors, researchers,
publishers and readers of scientific, academic and scholarly publications
worldwide. Charlesworth provides data capture and conversion, typesetting,
printing and electronic delivery for many leading learned societies,
professional institutions and commercial publishers.

Do You Yahoo!?
Get your free address at
or your free address at