Justin Winsor Prize for Library History Essay (Margaret Coghlan) Marcia Tuttle 14 Sep 2001 15:41 UTC

---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Thu, 13 Sep 2001 15:41:55 -0400
From: mcoghlan@ACSU.BUFFALO.EDU
Subject: Justin Winsor Prize for Library History Essay

The ALA Library History Round Table, Justin Winsor Prize committee invites
papers to be submitted and judged for the 2002 award. No award was given
last year. For additional information, please see below and the url:

Justin Winsor Prize for Library History Essay

The Library History Round Table (LHRT) of the American Library Association
(ALA) is accepting submissions for the 2002 Justin Winsor Prize for the
best library history essay. Applications must be received by February 1,
2002. Receipt will be confirmed within 2 business days

The award, named in honor of the distinguished 19th century librarian,
historian and bibliographer who was also ALA's first president, consists
of a $500 cash award. It includes an invitation to have the winner's paper
considered for publication in Libraries and Culture.

Manuscripts submitted should not be previously published, previously
submitted for publication, or under consideration for publication or
another award. To be considered, essays should embody original historical
research on a significant topic in library history, be based on primary
sources materials whenever possible, and use good English composition and
superior style.

Essays should be organized in a form similar to that of articles published
in Libraries and Culture, with footnotes, spelling and punctuation
conforming to the latest edition of the Chicago Manual of Style. Papers
should not exceed 35 typewritten, double-spaced pages.

Three copies of the manuscript should be submitted. The name and other
information identifying the author should appear only on a separate cover
letter. Submit manuscripts to Mary Jo Lynch, American Library
Association/LHRT, 50 East Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611.  Fax and e-mail
are not acceptable

Decisions will be made by LHRT's Justin Winsor Prize Committee chaired by
Lorna Peterson, University at Buffalo (SUNY), School of Informatics,
Department of Library and Information Studies.

Lorna Peterson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
University at Buffalo, State University of New York
School of Informatics
Department of Library & Information Studies
534 Baldy Hall
Buffalo, NY 14260
Phone:  (716) 645-2412 ext. 1165
Fax:    (716) 645-3775