Email list hosting service & mailing list manager

The Astrophysical Journal Letters authors awarded 2006 Nobel Prize in Physics Suzanne Wu / 05 Oct 2006 15:29 UTC

**With apologies for cross-posting**

For Immediate Release: October 5, 2006
Contact: Suzanne Wu / 773-834-0386 /

The Astrophysical Journal Letters authors awarded 2006 Nobel Prize in Physics

John C. Mather (NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center) and George F. Smoot
(University of California, Berkeley) have been awarded the 2006 Nobel Prize in
Physics for collaborative work exploring the infancy of the universe, findings
which first appeared in The Astrophysical Journal Letters, published by the
University of Chicago Press on behalf of the American Astronomical Society.

According to the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, which awards the Nobel
Prize, Dr. Mather and Dr. Smoot received the prize for work that studied cosmic
microwave background radiation in the first few instants after the universe was
formed. Using data from NASA’s Cosmic Background Explorer (COBE), their
findings – which confirmed predictions of the Big Bang scenario – offer an
important clue into the origins of how matter began to aggregate, and thus how
galaxies, stars, and life was able to develop.

“A preliminary measurement of the cosmic microwave background spectrum by the
Cosmic Background Explorer (COBE) satellite” by Mather et al. was published in
The Astrophysical Journal Letters in 1990:

“Structure in the COBE differential microwave radiometer first-year maps” by
Smoot et al. was published in 1992 in The Astrophysical Journal Letters:

For more coverage of the 2006 Nobel Prize in Physics and Dr. Mather and Dr.
Smoot’s groundbreaking research, please visit:

- Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences:
- NASA News:
- UC Berkeley News:


About The Astrophysical Journal: Begun in 1895 by George E. Hale and James E.
Keeler, The Astrophysical Journal is the foremost research journal in the world
devoted to recent developments, discoveries, and theories in astronomy and
astrophysics. Many of the classic discoveries of the twentieth century have
first been reported in the Journal, which has also presented much of the
important recent work on quasars, pulsars, neutron stars, black holes, solar
and stellar magnetic fields, X-rays, and interstellar matter. The Astrophysical
Journal and The Astrophysical Journal Letters are published by the University of
Chicago Press for the American Astronomical Society.

About the American Astronomical Society:  The American Astronomical Society is
the largest professional organization for professional researchers in Astronomy
and closely related fields.  Founded in 1899 by George Ellery Hale, the Society
publishes the leading research journals in the field including The
Astrophysical Journal, The Astrophysical Journal Letters, The Astrophysical
Journal Supplement Series, and The Astronomical Journal. The Society has
roughly 6500 members, many from outside North America.  It holds two general
meetings per year, has five specialist divisions for planetary science,
dynamical astronomy, high energy astrophysics, solar physics and the history of
astronomy.  It also carries out programs in education, public policy and career
services for research astronomers.  The Society is based in Washington, D.C.
and maintains a website at

About the University of Chicago Press: Founded in 1891, the University of
Chicago Press is the largest American university press. The Journals Division
currently publishes forty-seven award-winning periodicals and serials in a wide
range of disciplines, including several journals that were the first scholarly
publications in their respective fields. Online since 1995, the Journals
Division has also been a pioneer in electronic publishing, delivering original,
peer-reviewed research from international scholars to a worldwide audience.